Shoppers Guide

Now that I am sure that we are no longer going to try IVF again later this year the question is what do we do with the diet? It clearly has had a positive effect on my health but I need to find a balance that I can live with so I am not constantly saying things like “I would kill for x,y,z right now”. Chris and I had a long talk about moderation and balance this weekend…which brings me to the dirty dozen and clean 15…

The dirty dozen are the 12 fruits and vegetables that are “worth it” to buy organic. Even after washing and peeling, these fruits and veggies have a high pesticide residue content according to the USDA. They do cost a bit more, but I can’t bring myself to buy these conventionally in the grocery store anymore. In my head I think would you like some fruit with your side of pesticides?

The clean 15 are those fruits and veggies that are safe to buy conventionally. No use in wasting money on organics when these products generally do not have pesticide residue on them…or have thick skins that you don’t eat.

I have not had too much of an issue using this a guide to buy my fruits and veggies. Since not much is in season here I have been buying frozen, organic fruit to use in my greek yogurt and ice cream. We have replaced our daily apple with oranges and fair trade bananas as I can’t justify paying 6 bucks for 4 organic apples. The only thing I can’t find is organic bell peppers, I am sure I will come across them soon enough. I am looking forward to shopping in the warmer months when the organic farms closer to Rehoboth open up and start selling their produce…my fridge is going to be loaded!

Chris and I don’t eat out often and I realize when we do I won’t be eating the healthiest things ever…but what can you do? Moderation…

The pocket guide can be downloaded at www.foodnews.org

